GSA Management Team

Head of Guildford School of Acting Sean McNamara
GSA Manager Pippa Treharne
Director of Research Professor Robert Shaughnessy
Director of Learning & Teaching  Anna McNamara
Director of Undergraduate Studies Niall Bailey
Director of Postgraduate Studies Jaq Bessell
Director of Postgraduate Research Dr Rachel Hann
Head of Acting & Performance Dr Trevor Rawlins
Head of Dance, Choreography & Movement Phyllida Crowley-Smith
Head of Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
Head of Technical Theatre Arts Jo Franklin
Head of GSA Enterprises Alison Avis
Marketing Officer Harriet Reynolds

Programme Leaders

Foundation Acting  Michael Toumey
Foundation Musical Theatre Gerry Tebbutt
BA (Hons) Acting Dominic Rouse
BA (Hons) Actor Musician Nicholas Scrivens
BA (Hons) Dance Dr Sabine Sorgel
BA (Hons) Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
BA (Hons) Theatre Production Dave Roxburgh
BA (Hons) Theatre & Performance Professor Robert Shaughnessy
BA (Hons) Theatre (Distance Learning) Anna Tringham
MA Acting Dr Jaq Bessell
MA Theatre (Distance Learning) Anna McNamara
MA Musical Theatre Stewart Nicholls
MA Stage & Production Management Jo Franklin
MFA Acting Dr Jaq Bessell
MFA Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
Heads of Skills  
Head of Voice Chris Palmer
Head of Singing Elissa Hicken

Department of Acting & Performance

Head of Department Dr Trevor Rawlins
Senior Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Adam Alston
Senior Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Stuart Andrews
Senior Teaching Fellow in Acting Dr Jaq Bessell
Teaching Fellow in Contemporary Practice Dominic Burdess
Senior Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Patrick Duggan
Principal Teaching Fellow in Theatre Anna McNamara
Reader in Theatre & Performance Dr Laura Cull O Maoilearca
Teaching Fellow in Theatre Practice Richard Neale
Teaching Fellow in Contemporary Practice Sabina Netherclift
Senior Teaching Fellow in Voice Chris Palmer
Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Anne Sophie Refskou
Teaching Fellow in Acting Ian Ricketts
Teaching Fellow Acting Dominic Rouse
Teaching Fellow Acting Michael Toumey
Lecturer in Acting Darren Tunstall
Senior Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Matthew Wagner
Teaching Fellow in Voice Barbara Ward

Department of Dance, Choreography & Movement

Head of Department Phyllida Crowley-Smith
Lecturer in Dance Dr Shantel Ehrenberg
Teaching Fellow in Dance Stuart Fox-Chaffer
Teaching Fellow in Dance Rachael Kerridge
Teaching Fellow in Dance & Movement Rose Ryan
Senior Lecturer in Dance Dr Sabine Sorgel
Teaching Fellow in Movement Anna Tringham

Department of Musical Theatre

Head of Department Julian Woolford
Senior Teaching Fellow in Musical Theatre Nicholas Scrivens
Teaching Fellow in Acting & Musical Theatre Andrew Davidson
Teaching Fellow in Singing Elissa Hicken
Teaching Fellow in Musical Theatre Stewart Nicholls
Teaching Fellow Musical Director Niall Bailey
Teaching Fellow Musical Director Peter Roberts
Teaching Fellow in Musical Theatre Gerry Tebbutt
Teaching Fellow Musical Director Tom Turner
Teaching Fellow in Singing Fran Williams

Department of Technical Theatre Arts

Head of Department Jo Franklin
Teaching Fellow in Technical Theatre Dave Roxburgh
Teaching Fellow in Lighting Mig Burgess
Deputy Wardrobe Supervisor Vanessa Dean
Teaching Fellow in Sound Sam Digney
Events Technician Scott Everleigh
Scenic Construction Technician Jamie Fitzgerald
Wardrobe Supervisor Vicki Halliday
Media & Technologies Manager Euan Henderson
Sound Technician Johnjo Madgwick
Production Designer Roger Ness
Production Supervisor Sheryl-Lynne Valensky
Theatre Technician Sarah Sage
AV Technician Chris Watling
Deputy Wardrobe Supervisor Carina Wells
Wardrobe Assistant Faylin Wrigh


GSA Manager Pippa Treharne
Assistant to Head of School/School Administrator Sue Smith
GSA Administrator Claire Grayson-Healey
GSA Development Assistant Sue Sillett
Marketing Co-ordinator [Marketing/Events] Madeleine Gibb
Marketing Officer Harriet Reynolds
Box Office & Front of House Manager Ferenc Hepp
GSA Receptionist Bethany Horgan

Associate & Visiting Professionals



  • Paul Brennan
  • Damien Goodwin
  • Joanne Howarth
  • Lucy Richardson
  • Giles Taylor
  • Jules Tipton
  • Michael Toumey
  • Simon Williams
  • Tam Williams

Musical Theatre

  • Chris Dickens
  • Gary Lloyd
  • Shaun Kerrison
  • Kenn Oldfield
  • Samuel Wood


  • Claire Daniels
  • Katie Crooks
  • Rob Dowton
  • James Meunier
  • Mira Ormala
  • Rachael Owens
  • Kate Radmilovic
  • Nathan Lubbock-Smith
  • Francesca Williams
  • James Wolstenholme


  • Katie Crooks
  • Dee Forest
  • Sterre Maier
  • Rachael Owens
  • Jedd Owen-Ellis Clark
  • Jenny Tullett



  • Jimmy Johnston
  • Jo McShane
  • Anna Tringham

Professional Development

  • Lu Corfield

Musical Directors & Repertoire Coaches

  • Steve Hill
  • James Moriarty
  • Neil MacDonald
  • Tom Wakeley

Stage Combat

  • Andrew Ashenden
  • Lisa Connell

Production Freelancers

  • PJ McEvoy
  • James Smith
  • Justin Teasdale
  • Alexandra Braithwaite
  • Aaron Dotson
  • Alistair Lax
  • Sophie Prudence
  • Denise Slattery
  • Ian Teague
  • Sharon Davey
  • Annett Black
  • Becky Potts
  • Jamie Kluckers
  • Ian William Galloway
  • Ceri James
  • Fridthjofur Thorsteinsson
  • Sarah Burston
  • Tim Staffell