GSA Management Team

Head of GSA Sean McNamara
Head of Acting & Performance Dr Trevor Rawlins
Head of Dance, Choreography & Movement Phyllida Crowley-Smith
Head of Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
Head of Technical Theatre Arts Jo Franklin
Director of Research/Institute of Performance Dr Patrick Duggan
Director of Learning & Teaching Anna McNamara
Director of Studies Dr Jaq Bessell
GSA Manager Pippa Cleary
Director of Postgraduate Research Dr Rachel Hann  

Subject Leaders

Head of Singing & Music Steven Luke Walker
Head of Voice Chris Palmer

Programme Leaders

Foundation Acting and Musical Theatre Andrew Sullivan
BA (Hons) Acting Dr Trevor Rawlins
BA (Hons) Actor Musician Nicholas Scrivens
BA (Hons) Dance Dr Sabine Sorgel
BA (Hons) Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
BA (Hons) Theatre Production Dave Roxburgh
BA (Hons) Theatre & Performance Dr Adam Alston
BA (Hons) Theatre (Distance Learning) Anna McNamara
MA Acting Dr Jaq Bessell
MA Creative Practices & Direction Grainne Byrne
MA Musical Theatre Andrew Davidson

Department of Acting & Performance

Head of Acting & Performance Dr Trevor Rawlins
Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Studies Dr Adam Alston
Lecturer in Theatre Studies Dr Stuart Andrews
Senior Lecturer in Acting Dr Jaq Bessell
Teaching Fellow in Contemporary Performance Dominic Burdess
Senior Lecturer in Theatre and Performance Studies Dr Patrick Duggan
Teaching Fellow in Theatre Practice Anna McNamara
Reader in Theatre & Performance Dr Laura Cull O Maoilearca
Teaching Fellow in Theatre Practice Richard Neale
Teaching Fellow in Contemporary Performance Sabina Netherclift
Lecturer in Theatre & Performance Dr Anne Sophie Refskou
Teaching Fellow in Acting Ian Ricketts
Lecturer in Acting Darren Tunstall
Senior Lecturer in Theatre Studies Dr Matthew Wagner
Teaching Fellow in Voice Barbara Ward
Teaching Fellow in Movement Laura Weston

Department of Dance, Choreography & Movement

Head of Dance, Choreography and Movement Phyllida Crowley-Smith
Teaching Fellow in Movement Juliet Chambers-Coe
Lecturer in Dance and Theatre Dr Shantel Ehrenberg
Teaching Fellow in Dance Rachael Kerridge
Teaching Fellow in Dance Hannah McClure
Teaching Fellow in Dance Dr Amita Nijhawan
Senior Lecturer in Dance and Theatre Dr Sabine Sorgel
Teaching Fellow in Movement Anna Tringham

Department of Musical Theatre

Head of Musical Theatre Julian Woolford
Teaching Fellow in Musical Theatre Nicholas Scrivens
Teaching Fellow in Musical Theatre Andrew Davidson
Senior Musical Director Niall Bailey
Teaching Fellow, Musical Director Steven Luke Walker
Teaching Fellow, Singing Elissa Claire Morgan
Teaching Fellow, Musical Director Peter Roberts
Teaching Fellow, Musical Director Tom Turner

Department of Technical Theatre Arts

Head of Technical Theatre Arts Joanne Franklin
Teaching Fellow in Theatre Production Dave Roxburgh
Teaching Fellow in Lighting Mig Burgess
Deputy Wardrobe Supervisor Vanessa Dean
Sound Technician Sam Digney
Scenic Construction  Jamie Fitzgerald
Wardrobe Supervisor Vicki Halliday
Lecturer in Scenography & Deputy Associate Dean, Doctoral College Dr Rachel Hann
Media Technologies Manager Euan Henderson
Production Designer Roger Ness
Production Supervisor Natasha Pater
Theatre Technician Sarah Sage
AV Technician Chris Watling
Deputy Wardrobe Supervisor Carina Wells
Wardrobe Assistant Faylin Wright

GSA Enterprises

Head of Saturday School/Short Courses Samantha Lloyd


GSA Manager Pippa Cleary
GSA School Administrator/Assistant to Head of School Sue Smith
GSA Administrator Claire Grayson-Healey
Events & Operations Assistant Beth Preen
Marketing Co-ordinator/Events Madeleine Gibb
Marketing Content Co-ordinator Harriet Reynolds
Box Office Manager Ferenc Hepp

Associate & Visiting Professionals


  • Paul Brennan
  • Damien Goodwin
  • Joanne Howarth
  • Lucy Richardson
  • Giles Taylor
  • Jules Tipton
  • Michael Toumey
  • Simon Williams
  • Tam Williams

Musical Theatre

  • Chris Dickens
  • Gary Lloyd
  • Shaun Kerrison
  • Kenn Oldfield
  • Samuel Wood


  • Claire Daniels
  • Katie Crooks
  • Rob Dowton
  • James Meunier
  • Mira Ormala
  • Rachael Owens
  • Kate Radmilovic
  • Nathan Lubbock-Smith
  • Francesca Williams
  • James Wolstenholme


  • Katie Crooks
  • Dee Forest
  • Sterre Maier
  • Rachael Owens
  • Jedd Owen-Ellis Clark
  • Jenny Tullett


  • Jimmy Johnston
  • Jo McShane
  • Anna Tringham

Professional Development

  • Lu Corfield

Musical Directors & Repertoire Coaches

  • Steve Hill
  • James Moriarty
  • Neil MacDonald
  • Tom Wakeley

Stage Combat

  • Andrew Ashenden
  • Lisa Connell