It seems remarkable that when we made the choice to produce The Secret Garden, the series of lockdowns we have all endured this year was near its beginning and we all believed that it would all be over in a month or two. In the last 14 months the musical has taken on a new resonance, dealing with a group of characters who is each, in their own way, learning how to rejoin the human race after a period of isolation and trauma.

As we experience a spring that offers the hope that the darkest days are behind us (at least in this country), we can take heart from this story of optimism and rebirth.

Julian Woolford, Head of Musical Theatre


This production has been rehearsed and performed in Covid-safe conditions and according to Covid-secure regulations.

Suitable for all ages.

This recorded live production features the final year students of the BA (Hons) Musical Theatre programme in collaboration with students on the BA (Hons) Theatre Production and MA Stage & Production Management programmes. Please scroll down for headshots and Spotlight links.

This production of The Secret Garden is presented by arrangement with Concord Theatricals Ltd.


Cast List

Archibald Craven: Owen Bolton

Captain Albert Lennox: Reuben Burrows

Ben Weatherstaff: James Carlisle

Dr Neville Craven: Liam Forrester

Alice: Katy Haffner

Mary Lennox: Laura Jayne-Hardie

Lieutenant Shaw: Tiernan Lafleur-Johnson

Ayah: Ying Ue Li

Major Holmes: Keelan McAuley

Dickon: Ruairidh McDonald

Rose Lennox: Greta McKinnon

Lieutenant Wright: Joe Munn

Fakir: Harry Singh

Lily: Alice Sparrow

Mrs MedlockLauren Steele

Martha: Alice Tunningley

EnsembleTobias Turley

Colin Craven: Jordan Walker


The Band

Keyboard 1: Candida Caldicot

Keyboard 2: Dan McLaughlin

Violin: Clare Taylor


Book & Lyrics by Marsha Norman
Music by Lucy Simon
Based on the novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Creative Team

Director/ Choreographer: Shiv Rabheru
Musical Director: Candida Caldicot 
Set & Costume Designer: Stewart J Charlesworth 
Lighting Designer: Rory Beaton
Sound Designer: Matt McKenzie
Vocal Coach: Chris Palmer
Dance Captains: Katy Haffner, Joe Munn
Vocal Captains: Reuben Burrows, Ying Ue Li

Head of Musical Theatre: Julian Woolford
Programme Leader BA Musical Theatre: Stewart Nicholls 

Technical Team

Head of Technical Theatre: Jo Franklin
Programme Leader: Sheryl-Lynne Valensky
Production Manager: Rebecca Emery
Assistant Production Manager: James Holdsworth
Stage Manager: Jade McIntosh
Deputy Stage Manager: Madelaine McQuoid
Assistant Stage Managers: Aaron Cawood, Ella Godbold-Holmes
Wardrobe Supervisor: Carina Wells
Hair & Make-Up Supervisor: Carina Wells
Construction Supervisor: Jamie Fitzgerald
Design Supervisor: Roger Ness
Construction Leads: Charly Danby, Emily Dimeloe
Construction/ Scenic Assistants: Zoe Adams, Tom Atkin, Lauren Carr, Bell Dean, Lewis Downham, Jade Haslam, Georgia Jones, Josh Lowndes, Isabel Orduna, Martin Underwood, Daisy Willmer, Rhiannon Witt, Emerson Worsley
Production Electrician: Zara Mahoney
Lighting Programmer/ Operator: Jordan Williams
LX Assistants/ Follow Spot Operators: Jessica Caira, Immy Clarkson, Rebecca McCarthy, Connor Mills, Lauren Toland 
Production Sound Engineer: Noah Gray
Sound 1: Rachel O’Hanlon
Sound 2: Rohan Carr
Sound 3: Kiera Smith
Sound Crew: Lizzy Stewart
Filmed by: Animus Inc
Stage Crew: Chloe Ledamun, El Waldock